Repairs of fence on patio

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Victor, 4th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Victor

Victor Member

Hi All,

As I am new to the investment property scene, much advice will be much appreciated. I just settled an existing semi fibro 3 bedroom house 2 toilet in NSW. I just visited my tenant today and found out that the green fence on the patio(on the right side) in the backyard has is damaged and totally removed. The tenant said that his kid lean on it and it broke. Hence he had to remove the whole fence due to the rotten wood.

While I think the restoration of the fence lies with the tenant at this point, is there by any chance it is the landlord responsibility?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Kassy

Kassy Well-Known Member

Is the fence still around? If it was rotten then it would be a landlord responsibility to fix. I'd be getting the rest of it checked as well...

3. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member

I do not buy it.

Tenants are not to do things like this, is the timber sitting there or did they also do you a favor by getting rid of it ?

4. Victor

Victor Member

The fence is no longer around, only part of the base is still there..

5. Victor

Victor Member

They did a favor by getting rid of it, which sounds suspicious as he there later mentioned he can use it for BBQ. He did show me 1 piece of wood which used to be part of the fence.

6. Ted Varrick

Ted Varrick Well-Known Member

Victor, look at your pic and pretend it was someone elses. Maybe the fence was a bit naf, and maybe the kid was a bit exuberant.

Fix it up (it shouldn't cost much relatively speaking), and go one better, and give your tenant a bottle of red (to put a bit in his next pot of Spag Bol...and the rest he can sample...) and say "Sorry for the inconvenience".

And then imagine how you might have a long term tenant, who might not be as sensitive to future rent rises....