WA Rent or Sell?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Man_needs_a_name, 4th Dec, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Man_needs_a_name

Man_needs_a_name Member

Hi guys, Noob here needs some guidance.

This is in Perth.

I built this house i live in 6 years ago for approximately 425k and if I sell it now I think I could get 500k.

I don't see the property value going anymore up in my suburb right now and only by another 100-150k maybe in 5-10years.

I have to relocate so I have to either sell this or rent it out.

I will be building another house soon closer to where I work now and the loans are all sorted already and plans in place.

I will be relocating during the time taken to build, (say one year) and renting.

I could get $500 per month as rent. (Which is a decent yield)

I will have to pay around $500 as rent when I rent, so this pretty much balances out. (Minus agent fees and other expenses from what I receive).

My current loan that can be negatively geared is only at 246k @3.1% interest only. (But this is fully offset, so I'm not paying anything currently)

To build the new house I had taken 110k against the equity, which I guess will be paid off if I sell.

Can someone with more brain cells than me work out the CGT bit of I decide to rent this out and sell in say 10 years? Assuming a sell price of 650k.

Would it be much more sensible to sell this and use the money to invest in something else (offset, EFT, another property with a better growth rate suburb) etc, or is it better to get the rent out?

How concerned should I be about capital gains tax?

Any thoughts or suggests are much appreciated and thanks for reading all the way through.

Graci

2. Propin

Propin Well-Known Member

You need to discuss this with an accountant that understands property. I’m guessing you mean $500/wk rent? Will you have a mortgage on your new property?

3. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

Suburb??

4. Stoffo