Renovation + tradie + supply lead times in sydney

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by mike7575, 28th May, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. mike7575

mike7575 Well-Known Member

Hi PCers,

I'm looking at buying an old apartment that needs a total reno.

What are the lead times like for tradies and renovation companies ATM?

Also are there huge delays in ordering supplies?

I'm a newbie to renovations.. Are there any things I should look out for?

The apartment is only a 1 bed 50sqm internal but it's in a blue chip suburb with water views. I won't be stretched financially but just concerned about problems with actually carrying out the renos.

David_SYD likes this.
  2. skater

skater Well-Known Member

If you want any replies to this post, you may want to add the suburb/city.

3. mike7575

mike7575 Well-Known Member

Thanks, the title says Sydney. It's in neutral bay but I thought this was a problem across all of Sydney

David_SYD likes this.
  4. skater

skater Well-Known Member

Yeah, but Sydney is a big place, especially as it now encompasses Penrith, Campbelltown & Northern beaches.

5. doubles08

doubles08 Member

We're from the North Shore and builders were quoting 6 to 12 months earlier this year. Recently, we've had a few builders who ghosted us previously call us back to see what our needs were.

David_SYD likes this.
  6. Stoffo

Stoffo Well-Known Member

I'm in South Sydney

Took 2 attempts and 4 months to get a bathroom/laundry/Living/garage and balcony tiling started, so not a small job being some 250sq,

It was gutted and ready to be waterproofed a week prior to the first tiler supposedly starting (had paid a deposit a month prior to lock it in and everything).....

3 months later the second tiler started, did 2 days and haven't seen them for 2 days now :rolleyes:

Ordered the tiles we wanted and they only took a week to arrive :cool:

Attached Files:

7. Mark F