Reinvesting distributions of unit trust

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by tommyx, 14th Feb, 2013.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. tommyx

tommyx New Member

If I were to set up a unit trust, can you frame it so that the Trustee is obligated to reinvest the annual distributions back into the same unit trust until the trust is vested? The idea being that the investment assets are optimised until the stipulated date of vesting, thereby maximising the potential return of the trust, as opposed to losing capital every time you distribute annually?

Thanks in advance.

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

That's a good question - I'm not a trust lawyer, so I'm not exactly sure about what is possible and the ramifications of doing so, however, in general it is entirely up to the trust deed to determine the obligations of the trustee and how much discretion they have for certain activities.

Withholding income might fall into this category - but that's withholding, not distributing income - I believe that once a distribution has been declared, the unit holders have a legal right to claim that money and the trustee must pay it to them.

There are potentially tax implications for unit trusts not distributing income - I'm not sure how the ATO treats that and whether it is different to discretionary trusts which get taxed at the highest marginal rate for any income not distributed.

As far as compelling distributions to be reinvested - I really wouldn't think that would be possible - once a distribution has been declared, the unit holder gains a benefit from the trust and is obliged to declare that income for tax purposes. This may lead to a tax burden if they are not able to use the income because they had no choice but to reinvest it.