Regional Investments (Under$250) Pros v Cons?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by PlatinumProperty, 4th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PlatinumProperty

PlatinumProperty Active Member

With the yields being higher than in the metro is a IP in regional Victoria a viable long term option? Does lower property prices bring lower quality tenants and returns? Has anyone had any experience in this field?

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Pro is higher yield. Con might be lower cg, and using up borrowing capacity.

what are you trying to achieve long term? And what are the alternatives?

selling a high cg property to pay off other debts is at least as good as paying an extra 2% into the loan every year.

3. PlatinumProperty

I'm looking to use property as a vehicle on the side to create wealth. I'm a carpenter by trade and enjoy doing renos on the side. I just started my portfolio with a cheaper property in regional victoria as a starting point. Interested to hear other peoples views

4. PlatinumProperty

There were no alternatives at the stage when I bought, I was hell bent on getting into the market whatever level that was haha.

5. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

When you look at the yields, look very closely at the holding costs. It's quite possible to get yields in regional locations that are quite high compared to metro, but often things like rates, insurance, etc, don't scale quite so well.

For example the council rates on a $800k metro property might be $1200/yr. The council rates on $250k regional property might be $800/yr. Likewise both properties may have a similar replacement cost, so the insurance costs are going to be similar even though the purchase prices are quite different.

Property management, maintenance and water rates don't scale with price either. All these things may cost quite a bit more to deliver in a regional location than a metro property.