Refinance current PPOR and buy a bigger PPOR - in which sequence?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by MissB, 7th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. MissB

MissB Member

I'm completely new in this and hope the experts here are able to shed some lights

My partner and I have paid down 10% of the loan of our current property. Current property value have increased by $100k.

We would like to buy a 2nd property as PPOR using our offset (LVR 80%) and convert the current property into IP.

We are thinking to refinance our current property and put the $100k in the 2nd property offset.

We'd like fix the current property at OO rate, P&I (without offset, yearly package fee) so that when the place is rented out, the rate is lower than investment loan. Is this right?

This sounds like a stupid question but does the sequence of refinance & buy VS buy & refinance matter? Does it have any implications on borrowing, tax etc?

Both properties will be joint ownership. How do we structure the loan to benefit the both of us?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

If you borrow another $100k and put it in the offset you will have tax problems - mixed purpose loan, contaminated loan etc. So don't do that. You could borrow the $100k but make it is a different split and the interest on this split wouldn't be deductible.

You can fix your loan before or after doing this, but best to seek advice from a broker first in case you end up needing or wanting to change lenders.

I would probably borrow as much as you can for the new property - 105% if you can, or at least 80% and then you can concentrate on paying it down, splitting and using owner occupied rate to shuffle the loan into the investment loan when or if the investment loan interest rate increases.

Seek tax and credit advice

3. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member