Recommendations for a financial adviser

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by Sriteja Bongu, 12th Oct, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sriteja Bongu

Sriteja Bongu New Member

I never had a financial advisor, I am looking for recommendations for financial advisors to help me plan for financial independence.

2. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Welcome.

Don't expect a flood of suggestions.....

Maybe give us an idea of where you are at - as in complete novice or someone wanting to retire tomorrow with $5m in their super etc? People get upset when we make assumptions (because there are times FPs are handy and other times when you can DIY more effectively)

The Y-man

3. Sriteja Bongu

Sriteja Bongu New Member

Thank you for taking time out to reply, as you can am new to this.

I am 42yr old novice at financial planning, spent lot of time and effort on my career and am in a good position in terms of my position and salary but haven’t put any effort to invest my income wisely. I am thinking of getting a FP to help me build a plan that I can execute.

4. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Do a search, there was some discussion on this a few days ago here

Sriteja Bongu likes this.
  5. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

One major misunderstanding is that a financial planner can plan a property investment investment strategy. This is NOT a product covered by a ASIC AFSL. Its unregulated and potentially full of great advisers and a lot of rogues and spruikers who could lack real estate licenses and who dabble in credit advice, broking often using "partners" who all provide the same advice = buy more property using debt that is maximised. Take care putting your toes in the water as sharks bite.

Sriteja Bongu likes this.
  6. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member