Recommendation for rehab in Geelong

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by PeterF, 12th Oct, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PeterF

PeterF Member

Hey Guys,

I'm currently looking at selling my PPR in Geelong, but it needs some work. I'm a newbie, and I want to do this right so I can set myself up for my first investment property.

The items needing attention are:
    - Bathrooms, shower base appears to be leaking and has caused some damage to the woodwork.
    - Carpet needs replacing
    - Walls need painting
    - Slate flooring in the kitchen needs some attention, hopefully just resealing
    - Air conditioners need replacing
    - Heater needs repair/replacement
    - Some of the woodwork on the exterior needs replacing
    - Some of the brickwork on the exterior needs repair

That is a reasonably substantial list of reasonably disparate skills. I have no skills or interest in trying to do any of this myself. Given my intention is to sell, then I probably also want to ensure the work I'm doing will also get me the best resale price and that I'm not over spending.

I'm wondering if I'd be better off getting someone to manage the overall rehab or try to organize all the various tradies myself? Any one have recommendations on either approach or specific companies that service Geelong to handle this work?

Thanks.

2. Greyghost

Greyghost Well-Known Member

How much do you want for it as is?
    PM me if you wish.

3. JacM

JacM VIC Buyer's Agent - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat Business Member

Hi @PeterF

Regardless of the location of the property, it's of course important to understand what it would sell for "as is" compared to what it would sell for with all the rehab works done. If the markup is equal to the cost of the rehab, I wouldn't bother, I'd just sell it as is.