re: First Development Strategy

Discussion in 'Development' started by cdg9, 21st Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. cdg9

cdg9 Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I am looking to enter into the world of property development and would appreciate any advice regarding mentorship, strategies & approaches for someone entering as a smaller-scale developer (duplexes, townhouses etc).

To tell you a little about my current situation:

Currently located in Sydney, i am a builder by trade having constructed multiple homes, duplexes and townhouses over the years, and now i am looking to take the next leap into my own development & construction projects. The strategy i would be adopting is a Buy, Develop & Sell.

I have enough cashflow to float the entire construction cost, and would be getting a loan to purchase the sites (is this a normal financial position to have?).

The problem i face is conducting the correct feasibility calculations (purchasing the site at the correct price, and making the correct forecast for the eventual sale of the development) - naturally, i know exactly how much it would cost me to build, but the main points of concern is the site acquisition and the associated costs that i have to consider (ie levies, contributions, consultants etc)

Does anyone have any advice regarding site acquisitions, strategies to correctly forecast the re-sale prices of the development, and any other relevant information for someone attempting their first project? Advice such as integral consultants (town planners to advise on what type of development is possible on potential sites, accountants to advise on financing projects & tax-related implications, solicitor to review contract of sales for site acquisitions, architects to assist with the DA application design and compliance etc).