Question about new build - dual living situation

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Dualseekernoob, 14th Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dualseekernoob

Dualseekernoob New Member

Hello everyone!

My first post on these forums, my apologies if I'm out of line asking this question. If I am, please point me in a direction where I can seek legal advice.

Basically, I've been given inheritance from my grandfather early. My brother and I are receiving a pretty large sum of money (~250k each) and looking to buy a house together. I'm extremely new to the market and work full-time so it's been difficult trying to research on my own so I've just been talking to anyone I can and just found out about this forum.

Anyway, I'll cut to the chase and spare you my life story.

I've been speaking to a builder and he has recommended building a dual-living house. A house with two separate entries with self contained sections on each side of the house. The house is joined and each section would be completely self sufficient. The property is not approved to have a duplex on it (ie, no separate titles). I've spoken to a lot of people and have got varying opinions.

So here are my questions:

• Is it legal to build this type of house for me and my brother to live in? It would be me living on one side, him living on the other.
    • If at some stage in a couple of years, one of us moves out (for instance, I move out), would I be able to rent out my half to someone?