QLD - Need a lawyer for a complicated purchase as part of divorce

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Brad-corp, 28th Sep, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Brad-corp

Brad-corp Member

Looking for a recommendation for a lawyer to help with a property purchase in Brisbane.

Backstory:
    So, as simply as I can - I'm going through a divorce and am attempting to retain our PPOR and my ex has already put a deposit down on a property all in her own name.

I'm a sole trader and have had a bit of a decline in work since covid, so the bank is not interested in loaning me money. My father has agreed to by the property with me and the plan is to refinance in a few years, to put the property solely in my name when the banks are happy to do that.

I'm looking for a lawyer to help with this purchase and to represent my father's and my side of the deal and to help us purchase this property in the right way to make it as easy and cheap as possible to get my dad's name off the title down the track.

Any recommendations of lawyers in Brisbane that would be particularly geared towards this?

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Sounds like a bit of pain family law AND general structuring wise. What's your family lawyer said about doing this plan?

3. Brad-corp

Brad-corp Member

Nah, it's straight up the property purchase side.
    The divorce side is under control.

4. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

According to a family lawyer though? Because I can see problems on that side.

5. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Watch out for the stamp duty and CGT and social security act issues with your dad.
    Get some advice on bare trusts.

6. Brad-corp

Brad-corp Member