QLD Entry Condition Report

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Mumma Hen, 30th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mumma Hen

Mumma Hen New Member

Hi, I am new to the industry and I have a query.
    How do you handle your Form 1a?
    Do you fill it out and sign it before you hand it to the tenant to complete? I understand that is what legislation says to do but what it they write something on it that you do not agree with? you have then got your signature on a legal document that you do not agree with.

Does anyone know how this is viewed at the tribunal?

Can you tell me how you manage this?

Thank you in advance to anyone that can help me understand this part of the process clearly :)

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

I fill it in, but don't sign it until it comes back, filled in and signed by the tenants. Then I send the tenants a signed copy.

3. Mumma Hen

Mumma Hen New Member

We currently do the same thing but below I have pasted some of the legislation that was brought to my attention recently that has me worried about doing it going forward.

BUT what has me really concerned is I heard of someone being taken to court because this scenario and they were told, you signed it!

RT&RA Act 2008
    Chapter 2 - Part 1 Agreements - Subdivision 2 - Associated documents
    65 Condition report at start of tenancy
    (1) This section applies to a lessor or lessor’s agent if the terms of the agreement are required to be in writing.
    (2) The lessor or agent must on or before the day the tenant occupies the premises under the agreement
    (a) prepare, in the approved form, a condition report for the premises and any inclusions; and
    (b) sign the report; and
    (c) give a copy of the report to the tenant.

Can any one else tell me how they interpret this?

Last edited: 30th Aug, 2015
  4. wylie