Purchased First IP, need help with Agency Agreement

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Sharky, 10th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sharky

Sharky Active Member

Hi PC,

I recently joined PC to learn more about investing in property. During this short time I managed to purchase an IP with a potential to build a Granny Flat, based in Sydney.

It's my first time so bare with me.

The agent whom I purchased the property from has handed me a Management Agreement.

I am not too familiar with it but slowly reading through it, and the fee's seem excessive. (I have a few friends who shared their agreements with me as a guide). The agent does seem like a genuine guy, so I decided to give him a go.

But just to run it by PC:

Some points:
    5.5% (doesn't state GST or no GST, will clarify)
    Termination: 90 days (I've seen in forums, this is quite excess)
    Expenses: $500 (I'm definitely aiming for $0, and to be notified on all problems)
    EOFY statements: $20.

Curious what the difference between Management fee and Administration fee?

This is my first properly, so I apologize in advance if I sound a bit nit picky, I understand they do need to make money, but they do know about my lack of knowledge in property, so I do not want to get be taken advantage of.

Always happy to compromise.

-Sharky

Perthguy likes this.
  2. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

I don't think it is a very good idea for the agency that sold you the property to manage the rental of the property.

Can you ask around and see if you can find a good property manager?

I don't really know who is in Sydney. @Gockie, @sash, @See Change, @Inov8ive, @Leo2413? Does anyone know a good property manager or do you know who might know one?

KayTea likes this.
  3. Sharky

Sharky Active Member

Thank you for your prompt reply. Is there any reason for this ?

4. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member

5.5 is ok