Purchase first home or Invest?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Sarah123, 16th Jun, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sarah123

Sarah123 Member

Hi,
    I'm new to property chat and need advice. I'm currently renting in the Liverpool Sydney area and want to purchase my own property. I'm a single mum and my goal is to have my home paid off in 30 years time. I'm confused whether my first purchase should be my home or investment property.

A bit about my current situation:
    - i have a deposit of $60 000 and still saving
    - gross income of $100 000 plus. Working two jobs at the moment.
    - I don't mind renting for the next 10 to 15 years

Possible scenarios...
    - purchase a new apartment in Liverpool for $550 000. This would be an apartment I can see myself moving into
    - purchase a cheaper unit and renovate. Older units are $350 000.This will help me build equity and purchase another home. This will be for investment purposes and then I can sell in 20 years and buy a new apartment in the same area. Sometimes I think would the growth of two cheap older units be equivalent to the growth of a new apartment in Liverpool. So is there a point?
    - invest outside of Sydney with the help of a buyer's agent. The goal here would be to invest in an area with better growth than Liverpool so I can sell the property later and then buy my own home in Liverpool.

My main goal is to have my own home paid off. My ideal goal would be to pay off my future home quicker and have multiple properties so I can retire early.

Any suggestions would really be appreciated.
    Ta

2. housechopper2

housechopper2 Well-Known Member

Purchase an older villa-unit or apartment in Liverpool and live in it. Don’t go overboard with renovation. Don’t expect capital gain from a new apartment.

Consider buying with an Interest only loan so you can build up savings in an offset account ready to purchase your next property.