Purchase as tenants in common

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Candlebark, 1st Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Candlebark

Candlebark Well-Known Member

Hi,
    i'm looking to buy an IP with a friend. Hold for about 5 years to let the underlying value increase and the area gentrify more and then develop and sell. I'm a town planning consultant so site selection is sorted. Interested to know your thoughts on both that basic strategy and using a tenants in common setup. BTW I've been reading avidly for a while and love your work!

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

tenants in common would be preferred (or joint tenancy) because each party can deal with their share of the property in their will, but many general issues with joint ownership of property.

You should have a written agreement that covers things such as
    - who does what
    - what pays for what
    - what if one wants out
    - what if one dies
    - what if one wants to sell but the other doesn't
    - what if one wants to buy but the other doesn't

Consider also
    Stamp duty on any buy outs
    Effects of family law - spouse of the other owner slaps a caveat - can't contract out of that one.
    impact on serviceabilty

Perthguy likes this.
  3. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

If you buy with a friend you should view it as a business venture. You need to plan for bad outcomes and unforseen events.

The plan should have forecast profits and expectations of how you act when key milestones happen.

You would normally buy as tenants in common and rarely buy as joint tenants with a third party. I am sure there is a situation when you would buy as joint tenants - but I cannot think of any at this stage.

4. MyPropertyPro

MyPropertyPro REBAA Buyer's Agents Sutherland Shire & Surrounds Business Member