Property with termites damage and water drainage issue ?

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by AlbertWT, 28th Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AlbertWT

AlbertWT Well-Known Member

People,

This is my first time buying existing house (brick) as Investment Property in SEQ, I need your help and suggestion regarding termites damage report in the property that is under contract (Unconditional).

The pest inspection result:
    • Visible evidence of termite damage such as mud tubes or damaged timbers were found (window frame).
    • Active (live specimens) Termites (White ants) were found.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Is it ethical or possible for me to get 2-3 different quotes from Pest contractor so to haggle the price down with the vendor for Termidor/ Termite Barrier ?

The Building inspection result:
    • Inadequate drainage of surface water.
    [​IMG]

Do I need to get quote from a builder to fix that issue ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Last edited: 29th Oct, 2015
  2. WattleIdo

WattleIdo midas touch

If you want a quote the builder or a plumber can probably give you one. Thing is, it depends on how desperate the vendor is to sell - if you are the only person to make an offer in the last 12 months and everyone is turned off by the termites and wster issues, then you've got a chance. If there are other buyers who would be willing to take it on then you've got Buckley's.

Tekoz likes this.
  3. Tekoz

Tekoz Well-Known Member

@WattleIdo but the OP said that the contract is already under contract unconditional in QLD, can he still make a bargain with the vendor ?

4. WattleIdo

WattleIdo midas touch

Would probably make everyone a bit uncomfortable, but negotiations continue eg sometimes the vendor asks for longer settlement etc.

AlbertWT likes this.
  5. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

?? Is there evidence of damage from pooling water??