Property with a proposed drainage easement

Discussion in 'Development' started by Koalalui, 10th Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Koalalui

Koalalui Active Member

Dear all,

I am new in the Property Chat (first proper post) and new in properties. My apology for my silly question.

I would like to know if the property (NSW) has a proposed drainage easement on its land (backyard, nothing on top of it at the moment). What does that mean? Does that mean I cannot build anything permanent on top of it? or if I did, I will need to give access to the council or the corresponding bodies and if there's any damage, I will need to personally pay for it?

I am a bit confused with the word "proposed". Does that mean it is the same as the confirmed drainage easement? It is already on the Certificate of Title.

Hope anyone who have experience on this, could shed some lights on this, any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

A notation on the DP is almost as good as the registration, the proposed easement has been identified but is yet to be registered.

I have seen many 'proposed' items on plans including roads, parks etc for public services and infrastructure.

3. Koalalui

Koalalui Active Member

Thanks @Scott No Mates - does that mean I cannot build anything on top of the proposed drainage easement? Sorry I am a newbie on this.

4. Scott No Mates

@Koalalui - it doesn't necessarily mean that you can't build over it however you may need to concrete encase the service and the entity who benefits from the easement has the right to remove structures over the easement to gain access if needed.

5. wombat777

wombat777 Well-Known Member

I have a drainage easement 1-m wide in my backyard. Therefore have small trees in pots and garden beds over that part of the garden.

ellejay and Koalalui like this.
  6. Koalalui

Koalalui Active Member