Non resident property sellers face new 12.5% tax on sale of $750k or more

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Abooking, 2nd Jul, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Abooking

Abooking Well-Known Member

I was just reading an article in the AFR with the above title. Ive pasted the relevant part below.

I'm a non resident of oz for tax purposes and about to list my I.P which is worth between 770k to 820k.

Does this new tax rule apply to me? Do I only pay this withholding tax. Surely I dont have to pay CGT on top of this??

thanks

Property sellers face new 12.5 per cent tax on $750,000 or more deals with non-residents

''Sellers of property worth $750,000 or more could face a 12.5 per cent tax on the proceeds under new ATO rules introduced to stop foreign property owners avoiding capital gains tax.

Clearance certificate

Australian residents selling property will from July 1 need to provide a "clearance certificate" issued by the Australian Taxation Office to the purchaser on settlement of the sale to avoid the 12.5 per cent withholding tax.

Foreign resident sellers will have 12.5 per cent withheld and remitted to tax authorities.

Last edited by a moderator: 14th Sep, 2017
    Parkzilla and Perthguy like this.
  2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Yes it sounds like it will apply to your situation, but it is not a new or extra tax is just means the vendor will take some of the sale price and remit it to the ATO. You will still pay the same amount of CGT overall.

3. Abooking

I'm relieved to read that Terry thanks. I did ask my accountant a few months ago and she estimated around 100k CGT but didnt give specifics of how this was calculated and thus unsure if it included withholding tax.

I think I had better pick up the phone tomorrow to check.

thanks

Terry_w likes this.
  4. Abooking

I'm still a bit confused about the rules to be honest.