Property Mentoring for a Noob

Discussion in 'Property Experts' started by Stef, 25th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Stef

Stef Member

Hi,

I am 28 and interested in buying investment properties with the goal of retiring early. I almost joined up with Positive Real Estate but read the reviews on here so decided against it.

I have absolutely no knowledge or experience in this area. I am keen to learn but lack the confidence to actually buy. I love the idea of a mentor which I am happy to pay for, but want one that isn't biased by making profit off selling properties.

I am a doctor so have a good income and savings. I have no debts.

I would love to hear any mentoring recommendations and any books/websites/resources for an absolute noob.

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Hey Stef,

We offer this for new investors and have no vested interest in selling or buying you a property.

Jump inside Empire Builders ( link below) to get a feel for who we are - there's also lots of free training in there too. :)

3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

If you think of investment as a lifelong thing, it’s worth it to learn it properly.

read a lot and at least learn the basics, then you can evaluate your advisors.

spoon likes this.
  4. Stef

Stef Member

Thanks! Have joined the fb group.

Jess Peletier likes this.
  5. Stef

Stef Member

Thanks. Can you recommend a good source for basics?

6. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Phill74 likes this.
  7. Stef

Stef Member

8. Bellumi

Bellumi Member

A good start will be to listen to episodes 1-20 of the property couch podcast to learn the basics, they have plenty more podcasts after that to listen to as well (the podcast name gives a gist of the topics discussed). They also have free books/resources on their website.

You’ll learn a lot from reading through threads on this forum.