Property Managers are they necessary?

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Shikari, 19th Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Shikari

Shikari Member

If you had a small (n<2) investment portfolio, would a Property manager be necessary? I feel like maybe starting out, you could afford to take the time out to manage the property yourself.

Could you really do it yourself? What are the likely things and problems you'd run into? I have zero experience with this, and was really trying to weigh up the pros and cons of doing so.

Shik.

2. rhinsor

rhinsor Well-Known Member

3 of my properties I manage myself.
    You need to decide if you have the free time if things need doing and can handle the pressure if things go wrong.
    Also you will need to be familiar with the current laws the properties are located in.

Main problems would be organising repairs and maintenance. If it's a 3am call can you do it?
    Chasing tenants up if rent is not paid.
    Issuing the correct forms and documentation and the start, middle and end of the lease.

Make sure you have building, contents & landlord insurance.

Arnel likes this.
  3. Shikari

Shikari Member

Thankyou! That was just the sort of info I was after :)

4. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

It's one of the basics, always get building/pest inspection, always get insurance, use a property manager.

Sure you could. But you'll soon find out why that small amount of money is worth paying someone else.

5. S.T

S.T Well-Known Member

3am call outs are a thing of the past, subscribe to racv emergency home assist, give tenants the number for emergencies and enjoy your sleep.

6. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Do they have that for investment properties?

7. S.T

S.T Well-Known Member

Yes, they do. Though I'm not sure if it's valid in other states - certainly in Victoria. All my properties have it, self managed and PM managed.

8. The Property Manager