Property manager delegation

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Burramys, 27th Aug, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Burramys

Burramys Well-Known Member

All my IPs have had property managers. They are near the property, know the law and do the job better than I could. Except on one memorable occasion the property managers have been very good. Hence, I'm happy to leave nearly everything to them, relying on their judgement. Delegation is a spectrum. One end has limits and the job is checked by the person delegating. The other end is along the lines "This is what needs to be done, get it done and if you need my advice let me know."

How much do people delegate and how closely are property managers monitored?

Mel Morgan and Michael Mitchell like this.
  2. Mel Morgan

Mel Morgan Sydney Property Manager Business Member

Delegation is definitely a spectrum, as a property manager I see the whole range. Although I find it depends on investment experience level and often what they do for a day job.

Personally in my portfolio i've gone from monitoring the PM very little and having things go wrong, to monitoring a lot, back to monitoring very little again now that I have PMs I can trust.

PinkPanther and Michael Mitchell like this.
  3. skater

skater Well-Known Member

As Mel said, if you've got good PM's you don't need to be on their back all the time.

4. Burramys