Property anywhere in Australia for $150k

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by New2prop, 15th Aug, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. New2prop

New2prop Well-Known Member

If I could buy a property anywhere in Australia for $200k (purchase value not deposit), and be ready to wait for 30 years before I sell it, what would be the best places to buy for CG and yield? What property type and apply what strategy? I am not looking for an unknown town or mining cities, so please skip them :)

@moderator, how can I change the typo in title to property? Thanks.

2. sumterrence

sumterrence Well-Known Member

Maybe try moree?

New2prop likes this.
  3. Xiao Hui

Xiao Hui Well-Known Member

Firstly I am not a proponent of buying cheap = low risk = good investment. But I do understand there are some investors who just want to spend x amount of money in buying and not worrying about finance, yet hope to achieve some (not spectacular) growth in it along the way.

Realistically, buying something at around $200k means you can only buy in Regional towns.

9 Redan Street Bendigo Vic 3550 - House for Sale #126150534 - realestate.com.au

The above property in Bendigo looks not too bad in my opinion.

- decent land size of 500+sqm with 3 bedroom house.
    - stand alone house and not attached to any other building meaning it can be developed in future easier if needed.
    - pretty well located. 2.5km from CBD and 1km to the hospital, the largest in Regional vic. This is also not a rough area. This will assure capital growth in future.
    - condition looks reasonable from photos. This means you should be able to rent it out with returns.