Health & Family Prescription glasses - Is it normal to feel weird when you first start using them?

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Anthony Brew, 4th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Anthony Brew

Anthony Brew Well-Known Member

Hey

I've never used glasses before. Middle aged. When I am really tired at the end of the day, my right eye tends to get a bit blurry, but that has been like that for a long long time.
    Past maybe 4-5 days I've noticed that something just doesn't feel right. It is ok when out and about, but in front of the computer (which is my job all day), if I close either eye, the other can read ok, but it kind of feels weird reading with both open - like they are not really working together the way they normally are.

Went into a shop to get it checked and got some glasses. I thought that when you put on glasses, it would all of a sudden feel just "right", but it is not like that. It just feels different and kind of weird. My eyes actually get tired more often than without the glasses and feel like I need to look away from the computer more often than before. Is this normal?

Also, when I take them off, everything is much more blurry than before - I guess my eyes adjust to using the lenses, so when taking it off, it takes a few seconds to adjust back. If this is not normal I am concerned that if the lens is not right I will cause damage to my eyes.

The glasses are clearer for really really tiny writing which I can not normally read any more, but 99.9% of the time I don't actually need it for that, so I don't much care about that.

Just wondering if this sounds normal or not?

24218.jpg

2. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Doesn't sound right - almost as if the script is not right.

Was it one of the big chains?

The Y-man

Anthony Brew likes this.
  3. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

If you are not happy, go back to the optometrist fir their advice.
    Marg