VIC PPoR Surrey Hills guide

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Und, 8th Aug, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Und

Und Member

Hello everyone

I moved down from Sydney about 6 months ago and renting an apartment in Kew. Would love some advice and feedback for a PPoR

My girlfriend drove me though Surrey Hills and Mont Albert Road. LOVED IT!!!! I would like to live there. Good transport with trams and trains

My budget is 1.2m and something we can move in without major reno. Freestanding house not an option but would a semi / duplex be possible in my price range?

I would love feedback on which parts of Surrey Hills are ideal/ desirable. Once lockdown is over I will start calling REAs

I've been researching and keeping eye out for sales last 6 months
    • 4 Wharton Street, Surrey Hills
    Sold 4 Wharton Street, Surrey Hills VIC 3127 on 30 Apr 2020 - 2016204740 | Domain
    Something like this seems to tick a lot of boxes. Is there anyway to check what this went for? Domain and REA both say undisclosed

What's the go in Melbourne with price undisclosed. Means they are trying to say price lower than they expected?
    • 2/26 Faversham Road, Canterbury
    Sold 2/26 Faversham Road, Canterbury VIC 3126 on 22 Apr 2020 - 2016144163 | Domain went for 923k. It's a villa but ideal otherwise. How much premium would a semi bring?

I dont want townhouses or villas, I dont want to be constrained by strata. Im researching past sales to get an understanding, Is there anyway to check whether a duplex or semi dettached has Strata?

2. kaibo

kaibo Well-Known Member

Great area but fundamentals are the same, be 500m to 1.5km from public transport and major supermarket., Remember to look at the location not the suburb as there are parts of Mont Albert I would prefer over Surrey Hills (Elgar rd side and opposite Wattle park area)