PPOR Mortgage - Contractor

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by smokyjoe, 9th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. smokyjoe

smokyjoe Well-Known Member

I'm on the market for a new job and a new house. The reason for the new job is to be able to buy the new house (I'm underpaid where I am).

I'll be looking to borrow up to $650k for a purchase up $900k (< 80% LVR). I've been working in my industry (IT) for 10+ years. I have a wife (not working) and 2 dependants (both under 3, hence the wife not working).

I've been given a lending scenario which will see me able to buy what I want with my projected new income. I'm almost at the limit though. I'm also considering an opportunity which will see me go on a 12 month contract (daily rates, PAYG). This will provide me with an equivalent salary of around 25k more than my projected permanent salary (after super, leave etc. is accounted for). My mortgage broker has indicated that this shouldn't be a problem, as I've been in the industry for a long time. He suggested any contract with less than 6 months duration would be an issue, but otherwise I'd be ok.

I'm currently looking into whether to try and buy with a long settlement, then sell our current PPOR, or to sell first. Either way seems to have some risk, and I'm concerned that transitioning to a contractor at the same time might compound the risk. That's why I'm here for a second opinion. It's not that I don't trust my mortgage broker, but the impact will be massive if he's wrong.

The scenario I'm looking at is:
    1. Secure contract - Give 4 weeks notice
    2. Start seriously looking. Potentially purchase whilst still in notice period at current role
    3. Put existing house on market with shorter settlement than new purchase
    4. Cross fingers

As per this thread (PPOR - Buy First/Sell Later), still tossing up whether to buy or sell first (maybe I shouldn't have made 2 different threads?)