PPOR for family, unit vs townhouse vs house -900k

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Gizmobees, 10th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Gizmobees

Gizmobees Member

Hi legends,

I’m a newbie here and was redirected to Property chat when researching online on suburbs and property worths.

We are a family of four in our early 30s with two beautiful kids and a dual income.

We decided to use hubby’s income to get the loan and mine for household expenses, kids daycare, savings and travel.
    That leaves us with a deposit of 150k and property options upto 900k.

Some of the OTP made earlier snapped due to counter offers.
    1. A house in the hills district
    2. Townhouse in the north rocks/fivedock/winstonhills/Baulkham Hills
    3. Unit in Ashfield/Homebush/Ryde/Waitara/Hornsby/Meadowbank/fivedock/Greenwich
    4. Buy house plus land package near Campbelltown/Camperdown, sell off in a few years and upgrade
    5. Or hold off your cash as the prices may go down further.
    Based on the above, which option will leave us with a good capital growth in the long run.

P.S. This will be our first home and plan to live for another 5-10 years atleast.
    top criteria: schools, activities for kids & 10-20km radius to CBD.

TIA

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgages, Finance & Property Strategy Aust Wide Business Member

In 10 years your kids will be MUCH bigger. Will a unit still suit? Don't underestimate how much space they'll take up!

Mixing PPOR criteria with INV criteria often end up with an uncomfortable PPOR, or a substandard INV, so you need to be VERY clear on your outcomes if going this way.

John_BridgeToBricks likes this.
  3. Gizmobees

Gizmobees Member

Hi Jess,

Agree with your suggestions.

As you rightly pointed, unit will not be enough in the long run.
    The ultimate goal is to have house of our own in a decent suburb with good schools around without having to make high mortgage repayments.