Potential New Development - Sydney's Northern Beaches - Start to Finish

Discussion in 'Development' started by lynchy, 27th Oct, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. lynchy

lynchy Well-Known Member

Perth > Melbourne > Sydney > London > Sydney
    Hi all,

I thought I'd start a new thread for a potential development I'm about to jump in with a JV partner. It's very early days having just submitted an offer but I thought it would be interesting to track a live "deal" and potential development that has some uniqueness

A bit of background. I work for a national developer and have, with my boss who I've been working with for over 5 years, been looking for a potential development site for us to do on the side for a while now. We've decided to pursue a potential development site on Sydney's Northern Beaches. I cant go in to details about the exact location yet

The site could potentially be developed in to 7 high Torrens title townhouses with street front retail in a highly sought after area

We have submitted 2 offers
    1. Relatively standard contract with 12 month settlement
    - conditional upon solving some heritage issues
    - conditional on VP being achievable within 24 months
    1. Same conditions to the above but under a Project Delivery Agreement (PDA). The PDA is for an approx. 20% higher purchase price. From what we believe the Vendor is in no need of the funds up front so this may be of interest. Assists with our financing also.
    I shall keep the thread updated as to how we go. It could be rather short lived if the Vendor is seeking too much...

2. lynchy

lynchy Well-Known Member

Response has been received, at least we have engagement I guess. We haven't got much room to move so we've asked for a counter offer

Hi xxxxx,

Thank you for your interest in acquiring X.

While I appreciate your offers to purchase, both offers fall short of the market valuation as is the property currently is