Post development and valuation

Discussion in 'Development' started by Nabsinna, 23rd Nov, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Nabsinna

Nabsinna Well-Known Member

Hi all,

Just for my own education- will definitely clarify with an expert prior to any action. Thanks in advance

I am in the initial phase of feasibility analysis of potential development sites with pre-approval in place.
    Planning to knockdown and rebuild 2 townhouses and hold.. Objective is that I manufacture capital growth-use equity and take out my initial capital I put in-to keep going with projects.
    I am borrowing at 90% LVR as i am a professional

Just wondering after purchasing the land, the bank would need to provide a construction loan for the construction of the units.

1. What is the process of ensuring the bank provides the necessary funds for construction? Does the building contract detailing the cost of the project suffice? Is there any pitfalls i need be aware of early and risk mitigation actions I need to take?

2. In terms of bank valuation at the end- are there any actions specifically I can take to ensure the bank values the property as close to the market value? Such as- is it better to subdivide before completion of construction- would having 2 different titles help. And would the subdivision cost be worth it for the increase in valuation? Also, if the bank is most likely to do a desktop valuation would it be wise to cut costs by doing a standard build?

The cost of my project might be upto 1.9mil with each townhouse being worth from. 1.1 to 1.2 mil.

Thanks for your advice

2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

few suggestions '

At your mid range end value of 1150 the development margin looks to be 21 %

Pretty much skin and bones for a fist timer ( assumption), does the 1.9 include all costs incl subdiv, interest and sales costs ?