Positive gearing (or close to positive) in Brisbane?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by jbr2019, 10th Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jbr2019

jbr2019 New Member

Hi there,

I´m very interested in getting my first investment propertty however given the uncertain nature of my work, as a contractor, I don't think being negatively geared would be doable, at least in a cashflow sense.

Would anyone with much more knowledge than me (not difficult!) suggest areas/regions around Brisbane where the rental yield and occupancy would be solid enough to be able to cover a small negative cashflow or even have a positive return so the house will pay itself over time?

Looking up to around $400k - $450k max.

Also interested if there is a more specific type of building that might fit into this profile (e.g. apartment v townhouse v house)?

Cheers!

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

Depends on your finance arrangements.

Any property can be cash flow positive if you put down a big enough deposit to have a smaller loan.
    Marg

sumterrence, Angel and ndpjai like this.
  3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Yep, you can insure a burning house for the right premium :), and we can get a loan for anyone with a large enough deposit - sometimes thats 105 %

ta
    rolf

4. Cate Bell

Cate Bell Well-Known Member

Good on you for getting into an investment property, just be clear on your strategy and goals- especially around capital growth if that is what you are looking for.

5. Skyegirl

Skyegirl Well-Known Member

If you are talking about an 80% LVR, which is the most common situation these days, there are a lot of areas in Brisbane that can suit you well.

But with 400-450k budget, I would say some further BCC areas, some Moreton Bay suburbs, and most of logan and ipswich.

6. Blueskies

Blueskies Well-Known Member

Can do the maths on this pretty easily: