Portfolio construction - why not go all income?

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Orion, 17th Apr, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Orion

Orion Well-Known Member

Hi guys. I'm very new to shares, never owned any outside of super.

After reading up on various ideas, I have two questions. Why not invest purely for income?

As far as I understand, I can invest in a high yield fund (such as Vanguard, which is paying around 8%), and then re-invest all income.

Wouldn't this then serve as 'growth' and also avoid any additional income tax?

Then, when it comes for me to retire, I simply take what I need as income (i.e opt out of the reinvesting).

Additional question - are income returns from ETFs 'more stable/predictable' than growth? (i.e are dividends are more predictable than share prices)?

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

Well, for a start, dividend income is always taxable whether you take it as a cash payment or reinvest the dividend.
    Marg

Jess Peletier and Archaon like this.
  3. sfdoddsy

sfdoddsy Well-Known Member

This is a question I also am pondering. Charts like this one make a convincing argument.

Dividends.png
    Based on capital gain, the ASX is still below its level in 2007. The only growth has come from dividends.

However, I don't think the 8% from Vanguard (presumably VHY) is sustainable whilst preserving your capital. Plus the fund has capital gains from turnover.

You might be better with a slightly lower yield from VAS or a LIC such as Milton, or blend of them and VHY.

Which is what I am currently thinking.

I'm sure experts on either side will chime in.

4. Snowball

Snowball Well-Known Member

What most of us really want is not just a decent income stream, but a growing level of investment income.

Super high yields like 8% will very likely come with zero growth or perhaps prove unsustainable.