Please help - $150K cash, first time investor

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Anne Kay, 6th Aug, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Anne Kay

Anne Kay New Member

Hi all,

I am new to property investing and have been really inspired by this forum to use property as a vehicle to reach our financial goals sooner. As a bit of background, my husband and I are 31. We did the 9-5 grind for 7 years and realised we didn't want to be chained to our desks for the rest of our lives.

Along the way we started our own business. At first, this business was a way to make some side income but it eventually became profitable enough for us to leave our jobs and work on it full time. It has been 3 years since we left our day jobs and the business has grown steadily since then.

Last year I gave birth to our first child. The income from the business is enough to comfortably support the three of us and we have some left over to reinvest back into the business. We are now at a point where we want to use some of the money we have made to invest outside of our business. We have a financial goal in mind and I wanted to seek advice on this forum on whether this would be achievable with property given our constraints outlined below.

The Goal: in 10 years own our PPOR ($2m, minimal debt) and generate $100K cash flow per year from investment properties (minimal debt)

The Facts:
    • Married (both 31 years old) with a child (1 year old)
    • Self employed and paying ourselves 37k each from our company
    • Business makes around 125k after paying ourselves (pre tax)
    • Renting in Sydney for 2500 per month (company pays half as company runs from home)
    • No property
    • Debt free
    • We don't qualify as first home owners as I have previously owned and since sold

Cash Situation:
    • 150k cash to invest
    • $1,000/month to top up the loan if needed

Risk Tolerance: