Please forgive this newbie CGT question :)

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Strat Man, 16th Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Strat Man

Strat Man New Member

Hi all,
    I'm new to all this and have a question about CGT for a property that was once my home.

Scenario-
    Bought our house 23 years ago for 150K and lived in it with the family for 16 years, it was our home lots of great memories.
    It had a big backyard so subdivided the block and built another house at rear 9 years ago and moved into that and nominated the new house as our primary residence.
    Have rented original house on and off over the past 9 years. Have made various improvements to it both in the 16 years we lived in it and since we have been renting it.
    It is estimated to be worth about $650K now. All in joint names and we both work.

I was wondering what the CGT might be? and how would it be calculated.
    Appreciate any feedback

2. JacM

JacM VIC Buyer's Agent - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat Business Member

Hi Strat Man

It will depend on what the "value of the front dwelling & its land" was considered to be at certain points in time compared to what its value is considered to be now.

3. Xenia

Xenia Well-Known Member

Hi Stan
    I believe that capital gains tax is apportioned for the time it had been used as a rental

4. wogitalia

wogitalia Well-Known Member

On a very quick reading this is a pretty complex one.

The original cost base for the whole property is allocated on a "reasonable basis" (generally just area but if one half is particularly more valuable land you might need a different system) to determine the cost base of the two properties. So that 150k will be apportioned, lets say 50/50 for simplicity, so 75k per property.