Planning first development

Discussion in 'Development' started by Alex87, 2nd Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alex87

Alex87 Member

Hi guys and girls.
    Im new to this but have been interested in it for around the last 10 years.
    I have found a block but I think it may be alittle out of my league for my first go, so may look for something that's not such a big project.
    My first question is, is there anything im missing when working out costings for the project ?
    I have taken into account the following,
    Purchase price
    Taxes and costs involved in purchase
    Changing titles
    Demolition price
    Site works
    Utilities (Water, gas and power)
    Build
    Selling costs

Would love input on what I am missing, and any advice on what to look out for ?
    Also what would generally be (on average) a reasonable time frame Between changing titles and beginning build stage ?

Thank you for any help you can throw my way :)
    Alex.

2. wombat777

wombat777 Well-Known Member

Your cost categories above are fairly broad / general so hard to pick what might be missing, however more obvious ones are:
    • Interest / Holding costs
    • Contingency
    • Escalation of costs

Phantom and Mustafa Salehi like this.
  3. Alex87

Alex87 Member

Any chance you would be able to fine tune my list by making it not so broad, so I can get a good look at what to account for ? :)

4. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

What about

Taxes on holding

Taxes on the sale – income, CGT and GST

Stamp duty issues

Asset protection

- Project failing

- You being sued

Death mid project

- You and others involved

Death after

Incapacity midway

Ownership structure

Funding structure

cost blowouts

delays

building insolvency

Egga, samiam and Perthguy like this.
  5. wombat777

wombat777 Well-Known Member

• Design phase
      • Draftsman / Designer or Architect