Picking a broker

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Dienst, 5th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dienst

Dienst Member

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie investor. I've compiled a list of potential brokers - and potential lenders themselves - from online research I've done. I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience with these brokers or lenders (good or bad) and have any insights on what to look for in a broker and, for that matter, in a lender.

Research online has revealed some questions I can put to them but nothing beats lived experience. There are many online comparison sites but they all seem fairly similar with none having 'the edge'.

So far on my list I've got:

Brokers:
    Aussie
    Mortgage Choice
    Sage
    E Choice
    Finsure
    RAMS
    Homeloanexperts.com.au
    Essentials Variable Home Loans - Loans.com.au

Lenders:
    Ubank
    MeBank
    Bank Australia
    ING
    Tic Toc
    Pepper Money

Advice and suggestions much appreciated!

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

A good broker finds a lender to meet your requirements. What are your requirements? Not just the lowest rate. Offset? Redraw? Is this for PPOR or IP? More purchases down the track?

3. Dienst

Dienst Member

Low rate with offset is best and what I'd be after. But say I go to two lenders and they each offer me wildly different options, then it's a bit confounding. The question, I guess, is what tips people have in terms of seeking a good broker. What's there to look for and what red flags are there?

4. Trainee

Do you plan on buying more property in the future? If yes, rate and offset arent the only things you need. Its unlikely two different lenders offer you wildly different options.

5. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Lets exclude Pepper and Ubank from your list.

They dont have true offset per se .

why do u feel you need an offset ?