Perth investment options

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Deyoung, 14th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Deyoung

Deyoung Member

Hi there, trying to get started in the Perth investment property scene.

Currently have 2 x IPs, in NZ and Hobart and purchased a house to live in within Perths northern suburbs last year.

Hoping to buy another couple cheaper houses on decent sized blocks and build granny flats seperate to the main dwelling and rent them out long term.

Has anyone had experience doing these sorts of projects in Perth?
    Easy to rent out etc?

2. Rex

Rex Well-Known Member

I have no direct experience renting out granny flats, but separately rented granny flats are relatively uncommon over here in Perth. My anecdotal experience viewing rent listings is that when you do see a house with granny flat, it's often rented together with the main house, in which case they probably aren't earning a worthwhile yield premium. Perth folks like their privacy and space, and renting a granny flat is just not a mainstream cultural norm here.

Granny flats probably work in areas with with high demand for cheap accommodation though e.g. near-city areas and student accommodation near unis. If you want to pursue a granny flat strategy In Perth I'd suggest focus your efforts in these areas, but do you due diligence. The Perth market is very different to Sydney in this regard.

3. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Yeah I did a pair of GFs behind an existing duplex pair. I could write pages and pages about my experiences and lessons learned.

What did you want to know?

Overall I think its a strategy that you have to be very, very careful in implementing. Its not something I would say works in most areas, with most property types, or with most GF designs and setups.

I would say its only worthwhile in very select sites and conditions.

4. Deyoung

Deyoung Member

Which area of Perth did you build yours?