Permit Timeframe

Discussion in 'Development' started by Dennis Meyn, 2nd Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dennis Meyn

Dennis Meyn Member

Hi all,

I'm a long time lurkers in this forum and being a newbie, I've learnt so much from this forum.

So to cut long story short, at the start of this year, we've decided to go down the path of multi-unit development for our PPOR in Melbourne South East suburb (Monash council).

Our journey hasn't been a smooth sailing so far..
    End of Jan 2015 - we engage an architect
    March 2015 - submitted the plan for 3-unit development to council
    May 2015 - architect had a meeting with council and while we have the support from council, they require some changes to the plan
    Mid June 2015 - architect submitted a revised plan to Council to get approval for advertising

While council confirmed that they have received the revised plan, they haven't "looked at it" until now. It has been a month and a half and I'm a bit worried.

Is this normal? How long do people generally wait to get to the advertisement stage?
    And assuming there are no issues during advertisement period, how long does it generally take to get the permit sorted?

Thank you.

2. OC1

OC1 Well-Known Member

Yes it's normal. You're dealing with councils where timeframes don't matter to them.

All you can do is give them a nudge once in a while. It will take as long as it takes, each application is different. 6 months is considered to be normal if it's a straight forward development. Remember when you resubmit you are back to the end of the queue.

3. Dennis Meyn

Dennis Meyn Member

Thanks oc1. With the 6 months, is that from the time the application resubmitted until permit issued?

4. OC1

OC1 Well-Known Member

From the initial application. Most councils were inundated with applications due to the new planning scheme introduced. Many are still behind.