Paying for Renos

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Bendigus, 16th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Bendigus

Bendigus Well-Known Member

I am fairly new to investing. I've owned my IP for a three of years now. I'd like to do some renovations on the IP (less than $25k). I want to make sure I pay for it the right way to maintain a proper paper trail for tax purposes.

I've read heavily through this forum and below is my idea on how to do this. Is this an acceptable method?

My PPOR loan is fully offset. So I'll get my bank to create a loan split for $25k. Then transfer $25k from my offset into this new Loan Split.

My loan has redraw available, but it will only redraw to accounts that are owned by me. So I will create a Savings account with my bank just for this purpose. This will allow me to transfer money to tradies and use a debit card.

So in practice.. If have an invoice for $2,000 for carpet then I would redraw to the savings account and then transfer to the carpet company.

Seems a little long winded to me. But the paper trail will be very clear.

Am I going about this the right way?

2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

im not an accountant, but seems fine

ta

rolf

Bendigus likes this.
  3. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Split loan
    Draw new loan proceeds to a clear offset so its doesnt blend
    Pay the carpet people etc from the offset.

Dont draw down to savings accounts !! It gets blended with other $ savings and its stuffs deductions for interest.

eg Drw down $2K for carpet to the offset. Then move offset to savings. There is already 2K there. So only 50% of the loan interest n the carpet is deductible. But if you pay the carpet direct from the offset it should be 100% deductible interest.

4. Bendigus

Thanks Paul and Rolf.