Pay off which first? Trust property or ?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Jasper, 24th Apr, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Jasper

Jasper Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to run my thinking past you. I am ready to start paying down one of two properties. Both are Line of Credits used to pay 20% deposits.
    Options:
    1. Property owned in both our names.
    2. Property owned in a trust.

I'm thinking I should pay down Option 2 first so that it quickly becomes positively geared and so no loses are trapped in the trust (as I don't have any other properties in the trust yet).

Thank you. I am new to trusts, so not sure if I'm correct.

2. Eric Wu

Eric Wu Well-Known Member

Hi @Jasper

are both IPs? and why do you have to pay them down? do you have an offset account that you could build up?

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Why are you paying down trust property debts? How would you go about this too?

If the trust is running at a loss it might be better for it to pay its loan off faster than you paying off your loan. Paying your loan off faster will result in more tax being paid quicker. Also better to have a higher profit inside a trust than outside as the trustee can deal with it more effectively.

4. Jasper

Jasper Well-Known Member

They are both IPs. I have another IP with an offset account which is now offset in full, so I'm trying to work out where to put my money next (I can't buy more properties at this stage due to serviceability).

More about the loans:
    IP1 in our names has 80% fixed and 20% in LOC which I could start paying down.
    IP2 is in a block of land in a trust waiting to title before we build. I will get an offset for this once the build completes, but for now I could start paying down the 10% in the LOC.

I hope that helps

5. Jasper

Jasper Well-Known Member