Pay a wage to your business through borrowed money?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by JKWS, 23rd Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JKWS

JKWS Well-Known Member

Hey PC gang,

Ive been asking around and still haven't found the right answers/ answers

If possible can someone in the know please shed some light? It would be really appreciated.

Basically next year my equity base and debt ratio is going to be slightly cash flow positive with my current portfolio. Further to this I've also gained a partner who is willing to use their income and name on my new loans, all this in turn should make borrowing small sums under $500,000 pretty easy for us.

Im a builder, so using this borrowed money Id like to essentially employ myself to complete the works on our new developments/ alterations and additions. All projects on completion provide decent equity and allow for cash flow positive properties.

Id like to move from one project to the next as the builder and developer, will the lenders allow you to do this if all goes to plan?

To me this seems feasible, has anyone done something similar- or can share some experiences.

Thanks

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Do you have a company? ie a separate entity (not a partnership or sole trader).

3. JKWS

JKWS Well-Known Member

No, but more than willing to setup the right structure to suit the setup. Do you think this is the direction we will need?

4. Scott No Mates

A couple of different options:
    • set up a pty ltd company and become an employee of this company (possibly single director) - this creates a new entity which can employ you to do work; or
    • have your partner purchase in their name (you may or may not need to be on the loan),you can then be paid for the work you do on the property as you do not own it (legal/accounting brain needed to sanity check this one - @Terry_w @thatbum or @Paul@PFI/ @Greyghost )