Passive Investing Australia

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Redwing, 18th Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Redwing

Redwing Well-Known Member

2. Nodrog

Nodrog Well-Known Member

You’ll find Andrew on Bogleheads as well. He’s become very much the Boglehead disciple. His site is one of the best locally. I postedit awhile back in the Stock Resources thread from memory,

I find his views very interesting especially AU currency vs Global asset allocation.

Like a lot of younger investors it’ll be interesting to see if their views are still the same when actually in “retirement”!

Ynot, Froxy, orangestreet and 2 others like this.
  3. RogTheBear

RogTheBear Well-Known Member

As a website designer, I'd have to say that's a bleak looking site! Perhaps it's just the beta version?

One of the things I find myself ruminating on is that, even including the GFC, our "run" of not having a recession has been amazing, and obviously I hope it will continue long into the future for everyone's benefit, but some of the passive investment philosophies we're all sort of following in our own ways may not work so well in hard times.

I guess that's the core of the granddaddy LIC thing isn't it? That they have data indicating exactly how they coped in times of trial and tribulation, whilst the new kids on the block - currently higher yielding perhaps - do not.

Cmelderis and Nodrog like this.
  4. Redwing

Yep, No ETF's or Index Funds around when LIC's began

AFIC 1936 and ARGO 1946

5. pippen

pippen Well-Known Member

Not the biggest fan of PT by the reading too!

Ynot likes this.
  6. MarkW

MarkW Well-Known Member

I like andrew99999's posts on Whirlpool.

ChrisP73 and pippen like this.
  7. Cmelderis

Cmelderis Well-Known Member