Parramatta Council - Tree Removal

Discussion in 'Landscaping' started by Blue Cat, 31st Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Blue Cat

Blue Cat Member

Hi guys,

Just wondering if anyone can share their experiences of dealing with Parramatta Council for removal of large trees on their property?

My parents are currently landscaping their backyard/pool area and are hoping to remove a large gum tree overhanging their pool. The tree looks unhealthy and drops a lot of large branches into the pool and their neighbours' roof. They live in Carlingford and were previously under Hills Shire Council, now rezoned to Parramatta Council.

I've read stuff online about not enough trees in the Parramatta LGA, does this mean the council will not approve applications for tree removal?

2. Joan

Joan New Member

Wondering whether you found out whether Parramatta council will approve the removal. I am also new to the Parramatta Council.being in North Rocks. New neighbours moved in Friday and had tree removalists in to remove tree and hedges on the Saturday. Is there any way I can find out if they had approval from Parramatta council? If they didn't have approval are there any consequences? How would the council know they had tree removalists working for them if they did not put in an application? If they had a tree removalist in to carry out the work can it be assumed they had approval.

3. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

Give council a call

Sackie likes this.
  4. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Same rules as prior to the amalgamations apply - if you couldn't get it approved under Hills/Hornsby, unlikely to get it approved now. They're not going to overturn previous policies until new LEP/DCP's are prepared in 3-5 years.

5. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member

Do you really think the policy changes will take that long to be in effect? I thought it would be 12 months or so. I could be wrong though.