Parent's SMSF IP rented out to son, legal or illegal?

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by bonanzawealth, 6th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. bonanzawealth

bonanzawealth Well-Known Member

Not sure if this has been discussed before. My parents have substansial amount in super and just wondering if it's legal for them to purchase IP in SMSF and rent it out to my brother with proper real estate agent managing it and market rate?

2. sumterrence

sumterrence Well-Known Member

I've heard that it has to be arm's length which depends on how close your brother are with your parents and if your parents can proof they are not receiving benefits from your brother. Im no expert in this area so better some experts can jump in and comment, I'm interested to know as well :)

3. neK

neK Well-Known Member

4. See Change

See Change Well-Known Member

No.

You can do it with a business premises .

Your super can't buy a residential property you own , but can with a commercial you own .
    My understanding is you can buy residential off your super with appropriate valuations .

Cliff

5. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Breach of sis act

6. CosmicTrevor

CosmicTrevor Well-Known Member

Have they been advised that this is possible?

Essentially such a plan is at odds with the Sole Purpose Test, more information on this can be found in the ATO publication "Running a Self-Managed Super Fund" - which should be compulsory reading for all SMSF trustees or people that are planning to set one up.
    By allowing a relative to live in an IP owned by the SMSF it most probably would be argued by the ATO that such an investment constitutes a pre-retirement benefit for a related party and therefore the SMSF Trustee's investment decision was not made for the sole purpose of providing a retirement benefit for the fund members.