Oxley near Darra...need help

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Skyegirl, 4th Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Skyegirl

Skyegirl Well-Known Member

Hi dear fellows, I am a newbie to the forum but found it really useful and informative. Recently I moved to Brisvegas and started to look for a house (ideally could be a PPOR for a year and rent out later). Budget for this is 400-580k, prefer a brick type, and don't mind to do a moderate renovation. Strategy is buy and hold, maybe renovation/development along the way.

Lately I've seen a 4 bedroom house in Oxley, but south of Ipswich Hwy. Can someone throw a bit advice regarding to the location, and vacancy rate as it is fairly close to Darra.

Thanks a lot!

2. BB5

BB5 Well-Known Member

I have no idea but regularly hear Oxley and Darra on traffic reports alot that can't be good.

3. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

I would not let that matter much.

Most traffic reports come from quite a few locations that rarely vary. Traffic build-up is referenced from those regular locations.
    Marg

4. c_west

c_west Well-Known Member

Also check flood maps for Oxley, I think part of the suburb is quite exposed when it comes to flooding

5. Skyegirl

Thank you all very much! This is such a friendly forum.

Traffic always seemed to be an issue with no train line at that side of the mortorway. But things get better normally after passing Buranda. @Marg4000 @BB5

Thanks for the notice. The house I'm interested in is not flood prone according to the flood map, but houses two blocks away are. So fingers crossed if I end up with it. @c_west

However I'm concerned about the quality of future tenants. Anyone might have a clue?

6. diagnostic

diagnostic Well-Known Member