Option agreements.

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Biggsy, 13th Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Biggsy

Biggsy Member

I am looking for some info on setting up option agreements and selling the contract and also who I may be able to contact in Queensland for the legal side of things if someone specializes in them.

There is a property in my area that I have been keeping an eye on for a few months. It is in a good area of town, no one has done anything with the property since I first seen it.

From the street it appears to be a fair condition house and could do with a basic cosmetic Reno.

My thoughts are to try get it on a option contract do the work and sell the contract on before I actually purchase the property.

I know it has been done before so interested to hear from people that have experience or expert advice on pros and cons.

Thanks.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

RPI here is a qld property lawyer who could be able to assist.

Propertunity likes this.
  3. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

Chilliblue likes this.
  4. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

Is this a double stamp duty in QLD?

5. Terry_w

Without looking, I believe there are 2 lots of duty, but the duty on the option contract will be small - clarify with your QLD property lawyer

6. RPI

RPI SDA Provider, Town Planner, Former Property Lawyer

We do options all the time. Mostly Call options but puts and calls are useful also (eg developer selling vacant land to builder).
    Not double duty, small duty on option depending on how structured and value of option fee.

7. Biggsy

Biggsy Member

From what I have found so far I thought this is how tax would be paid.

8. Terry_w

Only duty in qld like this. The income tax would be on top.

9. JDM

JDM Well-Known Member