NSW Opinions on townhouse with cracks in ceiling & walls

Discussion in 'Property Analysis' started by aurora229, 16th Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. aurora229

aurora229 Member

Hey everyone,

I inspected a townhouse recently and it ticks most boxes e.g. walking distance to public transport, good-sized bedrooms, quiet street. However, it has a number of cracks in the ceiling and wall, with one that looks quite significant.

The property is 2 storeys - double brick on the lower storey and brick veneer upstairs. The significant crack runs from one end of the ceiling to the other in the laundry room and the ceiling there appears to be made out of gyprock. There is also another ceiling crack that looks to have been patched up poorly.

I'm quite new to the property scene and wanted to get your opinion on whether it's worth getting a building inspection done or should I not bother?

Thanks in advance for everyone's opinions.

Attached Files:

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Even if it looked pristine you should still get a building inspection. They could have easily hidden this with a quick paint. Was once told by an inspector that its not structural if under 5mm.

That ceiling crack also seems to have water stains? Is it because it got wet and cracked as it was drying?

3. significance

significance Well-Known Member