VIC Opinions on Nunawading and Vermont

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by DonJuan, 30th Jan, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. DonJuan

DonJuan Member

Hi, newbie here so apologies if questions had been asked before.

So we re looking for a house with decent land size. Budget is 1.2-1.3. Been looking at Blackburn and Doncaster East since lock down but nothing really pop up.

Considering Vermont and Nunawading now.

I like Vermont since it has good secondary school (very important for us) and can go to Mitcham line for public transport. Any downside for Vermont (not familiar enough, we live near Doncaster)?? Also what's price expected for a decent house (600 m2 land)? Seems every seller wants 1.2+ at least :p.

Same questions for Nunawading. But we can't find good secondary school zone for Nunawading except going to Donvale Christian school (non public) . Thanks in advance.

2. Hamlet5

Hamlet5 Active Member

I have lived in the area before and can say Vermont is a pleasant family suburb. The schools are good (esp with influx of Asian families who have been priced out of Glen Waverley...), the houses there are generally big, and the streets leafy. Personally, I prefer Vermont South because it's a newer area and there's a 'central shopping plaza' with Coles and Aldi (Vermont has Brentford Square, but that only has Woolies). Downside of VS is that it's a little further from the train station (though there's the 75 tram straight to the city) and a little pricier. Vermont would probably cost $1.1-$1.3m for an old-ish house on a good land; VS $1.2-$1.5.

Nunawading, on the other hand, has the convenience of the railway line but houses are older and there's lots of industry and mechanic/furniture shops nearby. As for shopping, there's really no central shopping plaza.

If comparing Nunawading and Vermont, you may have to ask yourself what is more important: train station/busy or schools/quieter/leafier?