Opinions on IP with odd shaped land.

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by RealesateEveryday, 10th Jun, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. RealesateEveryday

RealesateEveryday Member

Hi Guys,

I am new to property investment and is thinking to invest in properties that has a bigger size of land compared to the house.

I found one that has a good amount of land but the land shape is triangular. Please share any experience/advice you have on properties with odd land shape like this. What are the drawbacks of it?

Thanks guys.

Attached Files:

2. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

Triangles are good strong shapes ;)

Convert the shed to a granny flat. Would work well

3. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member

It is an odd shape.

4. Illusivedreams

Illusivedreams Well-Known Member

What are your intentions ?

This will determine advice.

5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

I thought it was even. :cool:

6. Sasim

Sasim Well-Known Member

Snap! I have one that exact shape.

I would recommend checking your R codes and local planning policies against the land size and work back from there what you can do with the block.

In my experience the triangle catches you out on a few design/compliance issues but at the same time, a benefit is wasting less set back and being a decent size, may allow something extra in that corner.

If you are not developing - then all good with the triangle - creates a bit of interest.

7. RealesateEveryday

RealesateEveryday Member

I intend to buy it and rent it out. After that, I will hold it for a while to get some savings and develop 3 properties on it.