old Victorian style homes

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by mc123, 1st Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mc123

mc123 Well-Known Member

Hi guys
    Have always been interested in the older style victorian / california bungalow homes.

Given their age and as a potential long term ppor - are there any maintenance / longer term issues one need to factor in to the purchase price? I am still a novice so not sure what to really look out for under the hood.

Thanks

2. WattleIdo

WattleIdo midas touch

Usually plumbing and a dose of rising damp.
    Also, kitchens tend to be small if in original condition. If not in original condition, you want to find renovations that haven't ruined the style of the house.
    I love them too.
    Cracks in corners are usually not a big deal. They may indicate a need to check that rainwater runoff is sufficiently being taken away from the base of the house.

Last edited: 1st Dec, 2016
  3. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

How long is a piece of string? It depends on the condition of the property in the first place.

If the property is original you should start with rewiring the house.

You will save a fortune if you are handy.

Period homes always require work/maintenance because there is so much woodwork that needs to be maintained.

I guarantee one thing once you live in a house with 12 foot ceilings you won't go back to new:)

All the best

MTR

wylie likes this.
  4. Propagate

Propagate Well-Known Member

Stumping was the biggie that caught us out. Wasn't picked up on building & pest and floor wasn't bouncy. Was pretty apparent once we'd moved in and furntiture started sliding across the room to the lowest point....

Ours is a 113 year old Federation weatherboard house.

Ours was a pain as it's very close to the ground, so replacing 80+ stumps meant ripping the whole floor up and doing it from inside.