Old units with internal size around 40sqm

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Summerohoh, 16th Nov, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Summerohoh

Summerohoh Member

Hi guys,

I am a newbie here:) Have been reading and learning a lot from this forum and I’d like to hear your thoughts on old units with very small internal size.

I am looking to buy a one bedder unit PPOR in Sydney. While searching online, I’ve seen some really old but unique properties with internal size of around 40sqm. Some properties may have a garden as big as the internal size. A lot of them appear to have their own character for sure.

Simply out of curiosity I went to inspect one which I linked below. Probably out of my range, but would love to know if you’d buy anything like this or what’s the appeal of this type of property? Given that they can be as old as 100 years, would it be costly for maintenance? Can you expect great capital growth for this type? What’s the pros and cons of this type of property (eg. some banks don’t lend for tiny apartments)?

One example - Sold 8/101 Kirribilli Avenue, Kirribilli NSW 2061 on 13 Nov 2020 - 2016511030 | Domain
    This one was built in 1920s and has an internal size of around 40sqm.

Thank you so much.

2. Shogun

Shogun Well-Known Member

What does something like that sell for?

qak likes this.
  3. Rich2011

Rich2011 Well-Known Member

What's the past growth been like for this type of property over the last 10 years?

4. MyPropertyPro

MyPropertyPro REBAA Buyer's Agents Sutherland Shire & Surrounds Business Member

One big hurdle you'll face is that banks heavily penalise <50sqm internal area as rule of thumb. They are reluctant to lend and those that will generally want you to have a higher deposit, usually upward of 30%.