NSW Planning Minister- Negative Gearing is Bad Mmmkay

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by House, 25th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. House

House Well-Known Member

Here we go again :rolleyes:

NSW Planning Minister Rob Stokes lashes out at negative gearing

Dean Collins likes this.
  2. 2FAST4U

2FAST4U Well-Known Member

Democratic People's Republic of Australia
    Easier to distract the masses with negative gearing instead of addressing the elephant in the room- excessive population growth. You never hear the Government or much of the mainstream media talking about the demand side of the equation it is always about 'supply'.

Brickbybrick and Sackie like this.
  3. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

Trust me, I'm a Doctor! ;) :)

4. New Town

New Town Well-Known Member

Pity he's not an accountant because you don't get a tax deduction for a holiday house.

A property has to be rented out or available for rent to get the deductions.

Dean Collins likes this.
  5. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Once you start to analyse the various levels of demand for many of our markets around Australia and the underlying reasons for that demand you will come to the conclusion that prices are basically reflecting the demand and what is 'expensive' is relative to the underlying demand. So the question becomes how stable is the overall demand for real estate in Australia. I would argue it's quite stable. Doesn't mean we won't see dips, flat periods, declines etc because those periods are normal. But as long as the factors that make the demand strong are still at play, then the stability of demand for real estate in Australia will be high.

I think the biggest asset which makes the demand for real estate in Australia so stable is Australia its self. 'Australia' and what it represents to many, is its own biggest asset to date.

Last edited: 25th Nov, 2016
  6. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member